The rules of golf are difficult! Luckily we have the guru. Our Rules Man knows the book from cover to cover. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.
My tee shot landed in the first rough cut. The next player to get hit followed my path, his shot landing about 18 inches behind mine. He got to the balls first, marked mine, hit his shot, returned my ball to where it landed and then moved on. Is that the correct protocol? –Martin Vette, Yuba City, California.
While Rules Guy applauds your fellow player’s clear desire to keep things moving with a lively clip, his actions are potentially troublesome. (Also, ‘getting ahead’ of the playing partner can be both rude and dangerous.)
In stroke play, this Rapid Roy is not penalized because, according to Rule 9.6, there is no penalty for outside influences that move a player’s ball at rest. However, in match play, a penalty of one stroke under Rule 9.5 is imposed for a player who moves and lifts the opponent’s ball without permission, rather than following the restrictions of Rule 15.3b and requesting the player to mark and hit a ball. move that hinders his ball. play.
It is worth noting that all of the above is also true on the putting green, where there is one anomaly: Under Exception 2 Rule 9.5b, in match play, the opponent incurs no penalty if he marks and lifts your ball in the wrong belief that it is his own ball. I dare say: don’t touch someone else’s ball without express permission.
For more marking guidelines from our guru, read on…
My friend drives wide on the right. Assuming it is lost, he hits a provisional, which also goes to the far right. Finally we found both balls within the lines. Problem: The balls were identical and neither was marked, so we couldn’t determine which was the original and which was the provisional. He was advised to play the ball further from the hole as his first ball, and then take a two-stroke penalty at the end of the hole. Was that correct? —Bart Calvanese, Denver, Colorado.
Oh, what a tangled web we weave when we neglect to mark our golf balls differently.
Bart, if a player cannot distinguish between original and provisional, and both balls are found on the court, the player must choose one – either – and treat it as provisional, per Rule 18.3c(2).
So your friend would have taken his fourth trick with the ball of his choice. To anticipate the follow-up question, if one ball was in bounds and the other was OB, you would play the incoming ball as a provisional ball.
Need help unraveling the greens on your home course? Buy a customized Green Book at Golf Logix.
Do you have a question about the Rules? Ask the rules man! Send your questions, confusion and comments to firstname.lastname@example.org. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.
100% Genuine Hickory Length: 45″ / Diameter 3/8″ Medium-dark stain Navy/White color combination Gloss Protective coating Nickel end caps High-quality wave alignment sticks